The UK Standing Committee for Quality Assessment draws on expertise from across the higher education sector.

The Committee includes the four UK higher education funding bodies, sector body representatives, academics and students.

The current constitution of the Committee is:


Professor Andrew Wathey CBE, Vice-Chancellor of Northumbria University


Dr Scott Court, Head of Quality Team, Office for Students (OfS)

Association of Colleges (AoC) representative

Arti Saraswat, Senior Policy Manager HE, AoC

GuildHE representative

Alex Bols, Deputy Chief Executive, GuildHE

Universities UK representative

Will Hammonds, Programme Manager, UUK

Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) representative

Gordon Ashworth, Project Director, CMA

Competition and Markets Authority (CMA) representative (alternate)

Mike Lambourne, Project Director, CMA

Committee of University Chairs (CUC) representative

John Rushforth, Executive Secretary, CUC

Department for the Economy Northern Ireland (DfENI) representative

Claire Thompson, DfENI

Department for the Economy Northern Ireland (DfENI) representative (alternate)

Trevor Cooper, DfENI

Office for Students (OfS) representative

Susan Lapworth, Director of Competition and the Register, OfS

Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (HEFCW) representative

Celia Hunt, Director of Strategic Development, HEFCW

Higher Education Funding Council for Wales (alternate)

Cliona O’Neill, Head of Student Experience, HEFCW

Scottish Funding Council (SFC) representative

Alison Cook, Assistant Director of Learning & Quality and Outcome Manager Ayrshire, SFC

National Union of Students (NUS) representative

Amatey Doku, Vice-President (Higher Education), NUS

Office of the Independent Adjudicator (OIA) representative

Ben Elger, Chief Executive, OIA

Professional Statutory and Regulatory Body (PSRB) member


Quality Assurance Agency for Higher Education (QAA) representative

Douglas Blackstock, Chief Executive, QAA

Sector member

Professor John Sawkins, Deputy Principal (Learning and Teaching), Pro-Vice-Chancellor, Heriot-Watt University

Sector member

Professor Ben Calvert, Pro-Vice Chancellor, Learning, Teaching and Student Experience, University of South Wales

Sector member

Professor David S Jones, Pro Vice-Chancellor, Education and Students, Queen’s University Belfast

Sector member


Sector member

Professor Amanda Chetwynd, Provost, Student Experience, Colleges and the Library, University of Lancaster

Sector member

Steve Denton, Chief Operating Officer and Registrar, Nottingham Trent University

Sector member

Jon Renyard, University Secretary and Director for Student Experience, Arts University Bournemouth

Student member

Emma Atkins, Education Officer, University of Manchester Students’ Union

Student member